Pumpkin Bread

I lost my favorite recipe. I can’t believe I didn’t write it down somewhere (here) where I could find it again. But there are hundreds of pumpkin bread recipes out there so I figured I would find one similar to the one I had and tweak it to my liking (less oil since all the recipes seem to have a ton of oil in them and extra spices). Here it is for my future reference and for your baking enjoyment.

Pumpkin bread
2 cups pumpkin puree
1 cup apple sauce
1 tablespoon oil
4 eggs
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 cups white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground allspice
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
(1/2 cup walnuts, optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix eggs, pumpkin, apple sauce, oil, sugar and spices until well mixed. Mix in baking soda, baking powder and flour a little at a time until completely incorporated. Pour into loaf pans (2 big ones, 4-6 small ones) which have been sprayed with non stick spray. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean. You may need to add a couple minutes for the big loaf pans(mine took an extra 15 minutes). Let cool mostly then un-pan and slice.

2 Responses

  1. I absolutely hate it when I lose my favorite recipes too! 😦 That’s actually part of the reason why I started blogging them! Yummy looking pumpkin bread btw. 🙂

    • My reason was more about sharing my recipes with my online friends but I’m finding that it’s great to have all my recipes available whenever I want them wherever I need them.

Leave a Reply

