Beautiful Buttermilk

As a kid/teenager I used to drink buttermilk. Straight. I know, hard core, right? It was especially good with something really spicy, like my dad’s mexican food. Killed the burn.

As an adult my love of buttermilk was forgotten. I would buy a quart of it (because that was the smallest size container I could find), use 1/2 cup for the recipe I needed it for then it would sit in the back of my fridge forgotten until it went bad. Considering how long it keeps in the fridge, and we are talking months almost, it was well and truly forgotten.

But this…well, it all started with a cake….
Buttermilk Cake
Buttermilk Cake Recipe
Someone posted this on FB and out of curiosity I had to try it. One word: amazing. Moist, not too sweet, a little tang. All I love in a home made cake.

Then I had to find something to do with all the left over buttermilk. I was determined not to waste it again. Buttermilk pancakes. Even made with Bisquick they were wonderful. I started looking for a banana bread recipe that used buttermilk, not only to use up my buttermilk but also the massive amount of frozen over ripe bananas I had. Found one. Buttermilk Banana Bread I got 9 muffins and 1 loaf out of the recipe. Again, moist, not too sweet, a little tang…perfect. Then I started looking for other ways to use it. Buttermilk in mac and cheese (try this, I’m serious!). Fried chicken. Ranch dressing. Chocolate cake (I’m not kidding, it’s great!). Potatoes au gratin. Mashed potatoes. Sugar cookies. Cole slaw. The list became endless.

But I only had 1 quart of buttermilk. Between the cake, the banana bread and the pancakes I had almost used the whole quart. So I went looking. Looking for a way to make my own buttermilk. And I found it. So easy, I promise.

Home Made Buttermilk
1/3 to 1/2 cup buttermilk
2-3 cups regular milk

Combine the milk and the buttermilk in a large jar, I used an old mayo jar that had a tight fitting lid. Shake well for a minute and put it on the counter at room temp. And leave it there for at least 24 hours. After 24 hours give it a shake and take a look at it. It should be thick and sour smelling/tasting but not overwhelmingly sour. It should be like the buttermilk that you bought. If it’s not let it sit for another 12 hours. Once it’s thick and sour put it in the fridge and use it. Just make sure when you get down to about 1/2 cup of it left you make some more so you always have it on hand.

Here is the side note I have to add from all the recipes I read: make sure the original buttermilk you buy says active cultures. Now I didn’t because I had no intention of making my own and as I went to make it I looked all over the carton and never found that printed on it. So I’m not sure if it had active cultures or not but it worked. Another thing: the recipes I read said you have to make it every week for it to keep working as buttermilk but I’ve had my initial batch for much longer and it’s still working to make more buttermilk. I guess that one is up to you and how much you use in a week. I’m still getting reacquainted with buttermilk so I’m on the slow side using it. Worse comes to worse I can always go buy another quart of it and start over.

Buttermilk

3 Responses

  1. That cake looks ridiculously good!

  2. It really is. The first place I saw it said you could use jam and spread it over the top before cooking instead of putting in the fresh fruit. The other day I made it with fresh strawberries and canned peaches. Delish!

  3. The cake looks great. I never have buttermilk on hand, so I always make my own.

Leave a Reply

