Cherry Butter

HERE is the original post. I did it a little differently though and made freezer jam.

Cherry Butter

6 cups pitted cherries
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
4-6 cups sugar

I started by putting the cherries and spices into the crock pot on high. I let it sit for about 6 hours stirring every hour or so. Then I took my stick blender and pureed it all until there were no lumps. (But just to make sure there were no pits or lumps I poured it though the pasta strainer into a bowl and poured the bowl back into the crock pot.) Then I added 4 cups of the sugar, stirring it in throughly, and I left it on high for another 6 hours with the lid cracked, I used a wooden spoon to keep the lid partly open. By that time it was 9pm and it still wasn’t reduced as much as I liked so I left it on the keep warm setting on my crock pot overnight with the spoon still keeping the lid partly open. In the morning it was pretty much as thick as I wanted it so I tasted it and decided it needed more sugar. 1 1/2 cups of sugar later it was perfect. Once it cooled most of the way I put it in 8oz plastic freezer containers, labeled them, and popped them in the freezer.

It’s very good, tart and sweet and very cherry. I’ll keep this recipe around for a long time. And the cherry butter in the freezer should last at least a year if not longer.

One Response

  1. […] Dutch Baby breakfast….served with Cherry Butter on top. […]

Leave a Reply

