Home Made Not Fried Beans

Last night was taco salad night and instead of opening up a can of re-fried beans (not that I had a can but anyway….) I decided to use my bag of dried pinto beans and make my own. Instead of a recipe I’ll just tell you what I did.

I meant to soak the beans overnight but yup, I forgot. So I covered them with water and let them soak for about 4 hours. They softened pretty good from just that. Then I rinsed them a couple times (I had picked through them before I soaked them) and put them in a pot and covered them with water. I added 1/2 an onion, 2 carrots broken in half, 2 stalks of celery, a beef bullion cube (since hamburger was going to be served with the beans), 1 tablespoon chili powder, a bay leaf and a couple cloves of garlic, smashed. This I cooked for an hour though I needed to add more water half way through, I wanted them to be covered with about an inch of water above them.

After they cooked for an hour I turned off the stove and put a cover on them and there they sat for a couple hours before I started working on the rest of dinner.

When I started working on the rest of dinner I took out everything but the beans, drained the liquid, saving it for adding to the beans if needed. I put about 1/4 cup olive oil into the beans and called Hubby over to mash them for me (my shoulder was hurting too much to mash them). He went to work with the potato masher and after about 5 minutes, and maybe 1/2 cup of the liquid added back in and some salt (even with the bullion cube cooked with the beans they were pretty bland) and chili powder they were perfect. Hubby could have mashed them for a minute more to make a smoother mixture but we loved them. In fact Hubby asked that I make them every time we have taco night since they were so tasty. And this man wouldn’t eat beans if they were forced on him but he liked these. I say that is successful, wouldn’t you?

One Response

  1. That sounds so good. I’m going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

