OOPS!

It seems to be my week for forgetting. I forgot to thaw the pork chops for dinner tonight so I’ll pass along my tip for quick thawing meat. It takes about 1-2 hours depending on how much meat you are thawing but I’m working with about a pound of pork chops that are all bunched up, not laid out nicely and stacked flat. If you have a larger chunk of meat, like a tritip or a roast (I don’t thaw roasts, I cook them from frozen, but I know some people like to brown a roast before sticking it in the crock pot or oven) it will take longer.

Today’s brine is water, salt, pepper, sugar, bay leaves, celery seed, garlic powder, onion powder, dried thyme, fresh thyme and cranberries. Yum.

Quick Thawing Tip:
Take your meat and put it in a zip-top bag. You can add a brine (I did) or a marinade if you want but you don’t have to. Get out as much air as you can. Put the bag with the meat in a bowl or other vessel that will hold the whole thing with an inch or two above the bag. Fill the bowl with cold water and set your sink to dribble a little bit of cold water into the bowl and leave it running. The barely running cold water will provide convection and thaw your meat evenly without letting it get into the unsafe food temp zone of 40-140 degrees. This works great and I’ve done it many times when I realize it’s 4:00 and I haven’t thawed that piece of meat for dinner. It really doesn’t use much water but if you are worried about wasting you can just fill the bowl, let it sit 30 minutes then dump it out and refill it with cold water. It will take longer this way but it’s better than waiting for it to thaw on it’s own or trying to defrost in the microwave. I don’t know about you but I always end up cooking the outside of the meat and the inside is still frozen when I use the microwave.

Leave a Reply

