Slow Cooker Chili – Cheddar Jalapeno Corn Muffins

So I’ve decided what to have tomorrow night for dinner when everyone is here, slow cooker chili and my cheddar jalapeno corn muffins.  I found a recipe online and it sounded ok but I think I’ll change it a little and see how it turns out.  So I’ll post the recipe as I plan to change it and I’ll modify it if I add anything to the chili.  And I’ll try to take a pic for everyone to see….

Slow Cooker Chili

1 pound ground beef
1/2 large onion, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
1/2 bell pepper, diced

2 15oz cans kidney beans
2 15oz cans peeled diced tomatoes
1 8oz can tomato sauce
4 teaspoons sugar (I’m going to try brown and see what happens)
2 Tablespoons chili powder
1.5 teaspoons dried basil
1.5 teaspoons dried oregano
2 Tablespoons white vinegar
1 large clove garlic, minced
1 chipotle pepper, minced and mushed into paste
1/2 bottle of beer

Toppings:cheddar cheese, sour cream, red onion…whatever else you might like.

Brown the beef, onion, celery and bell pepper in a pan. Put in slow cooker with everything else, give it a stir and set on low for 8 hours. Serve with cheddar cheese and sour cream and corn muffins.

Cheddar Jalapeno Corn Muffins

1 (8 1/2 ounce) box corn muffin mix
1 large egg
1/3 cup milk
7 ounces creamed corn (or half a 14 oz can)
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoons minced jalapenos
1/2 cup cheddar cheese
Toppings: butter, honey, pepper jelly…whatever you want!!!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all ingredients in a bowl and let the the batter rest in the bowl for 3-4 minutes. Re-stir batter and pour into muffin tins/cupcake papers or a well-greased muffin pan. Bake for 20 minutes or until the muffins are a gorgeous golden brown.

Leave a Reply

